Tags

, , ,

Tomorrow is Saint Patrick’s Day and in honor of that special occasion I will dedicate this weeks Tasty Thursday to the best green food known to mankind: Broccoli.

I know not everybody might be with me on this one but I just love it!  Cooked, steamed in a stir fry, as soup, casserole … doesn’t matter to me. While I think broccoli is awesome in pretty much any way imaginable this week I want to share with you  a recipe that will most likely make even the broccoli haters reconsider this often neglected vegetable. It is unbelievably easy and done within a few minutes but super super tasty. I promise.

What you need:

-2 tablespoons olive oil

-1 big clove of garlic, finely diced

– about 1 pound of broccoli ( 1big bunch)

-salt and pepper

-3 tablespoons pine nuts

-lemon juice

-grated parmesan cheese

This is how it works:

Prepare the broccoli by cutting off the florets. Toss with salt and pepper.

Heat up the oil and the garlic  in a big pan until the oil is hot and the garlic is fragrant.

Now throw the broccoli and the pine nuts in the pan and quickly put the lid on. Hold the lid down at all times but give it a shake every once in a while. After about 5 minutes the broccoli should be still a bit crunchy with browned, roasted spots allover. If you want it a bit softer turn off the heat and give it another 2 to 3 minutes before you transfer it to a big bowl.

At this point drizzle the lemon juice and the parmesan cheese over the broccoli and serve.

Soo easy yet so delicious. I usually have some chicken and rice with it but it makes an excellent side dish to almost anything.

 

 

